top of page
Search
  • ursulamk01

Sports

Sports photography was a lot easier than I expected, although there were parts of the shooting that took more skill and thinking than others.


One of the difficulties that I faced upon taking pictures of the Wayne State Cheerleading Team at their NCA Nationals send-off was that the lighting in the gym was awful. There was no natural light, and most of my pictures came out darkened when they were aimed at certain angles.


Another difficulty was the angles that I was at. The routines that were performed moved around a lot and it was hard to see where I needed to be in order to get the best action shots without blocking the views of the fans in the stands.

Lastly, the most difficult thing that I faced was identifying the cheerleaders. The team does not wear jerseys with letters, so by using the roster, I had to match the faces to the names. It was also difficult to approach the fans in my photos to identify who they were.


What I found to be easier consisted of the fact that I was allowed on the floor to shoot. I took photos at angles that not many other people in the stands saw, and I was able to focus on their faces and capture the energy that they were emitting. I set my camera to capture the action and the settings stayed the same for most of the night.

It was a very fun and energetic atmosphere and I enjoyed shooting it a lot. I enjoyed being so close to the action. Despite being focused on my assignment, I was able to watch through the lens and see the routines, which were breathtaking. The team ended up placing second in the nation in Daytona Beach, Florida!

Fan Reaction: Abigail Stacy cheers as the WSU Cheer Team hits a perfect stunt at the NCA Nationals send-off at the Wayne State Matthai Center last Monday.

Coach Photo: Coach Samantha Koehler introduces her 2018-2019 cheerleading team at the NCA Nationals send-off at the Wayne State Matthai Center last monday. The team left Tuesday to compete in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Action Shot: Jocie Rutkowski, Lily Juncajj, Judah Washington, and Amanda Gledhill hype up the crowd as Noah Hurst throws a back handspring toward the audience at the NCA Nationals send-off at the Wayne State Matthai Center last Monday. Many people showed up to wish the cheer team luck.

Reaction Shot: Samantha Koehler cheers on her team as they perform a tricky stunt and land it at the NCA Nationals send-off at the Wayne State Matthai Center last Monday. The team won second place at nationals in Daytona Beach, Florida.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Audio Photo Story

Shooting a video story with audio was one of the most exciting projects that I have done. While I ran into some trouble, it was a very smooth project and allowed me to loosen up and explore different

bottom of page